This fall I’ve been inspired by Mura-zome washi.  There are hundreds of varieties of Japanese washi paper, and each and every one has its own beauty.

But, I have a particular weakness for mura-zome.  Mura-zome is a traditional tie-dye paper in colors that are mind-blowingly vibrant and, to my eye, modern.

It has a cloth-like look and a stained glass look and a look that is all its own.  Here is a screen shot of a few colors from the online shop Kura-washi.com:

 

The beauty of mura-zome washi

 

I started the fall entranced by fiery oranges.

 

Mura-zome paper art pendant

 

But I’ve recently moved on to greens, in this new piece, “Modern Medieval Medallion.”

 

Modern medieval medallion choker on copper

 

I adore the cloudy mystery of the green encircled by copper.  I could see Merlin wearing this, or better yet Morgan La Fay!

